introduction

31 01 2011

Having started the PhD  journey I am struggling to manage my studies around my other commitments. At the moment I am in the process of writing my first paper for publication and have a conference to present at in March. To say I am terrified is an understatement; although I have proved myself in obtaining a BSc (Hons: 1st) followed by a MSc (distinction) I do not feel capable enough to do a PhD, that said I am not about to give up after coming this far. Hopefully as I progress my fears will disperse and I will have developed a routine to include work and play. I know I am not alone in my thoughts and would like to know how other new researchers are finding the first few months.

Actions

Information

One response

7 02 2011
proftop

Hi
I remember that feeling well and I’m not convinced it goes away totally until you’ve finished although it ebbs and flows. In terms of time be ruthless with it but remember it is the (only) period in your life when kitchen cupboards get constant attention.

Leave a Reply

